Slowly does it

[Recipe 1] HUTSPOT met KLAPSTUK (DUTCH MASH with SLOW-COOKED BRISKET) transforms into
[Recipe 2] BEEF BRISKET SLIDERS with RUSSIAN POTATO SALAD

……………..
One of my fave childhood meals was Hutspot met Klapstuk, which translates literally as ‘hotch potch with slap piece’ (so charmingly Dutch)! Hutspot is a messy mash of potato, carrot and onion. It ain’t pretty (Google ‘hutspot photos’ and face the horror), but it is delicious! Both my Oma (grandma) in Holland and my mum made it often. Oma had a special electric heated contraption that would sit in the middle of the table, where she would place the hutspot, beef and gravy in serving pots so we could help ourselves.
Klapstuk actually refers to beef cut from the rib but I prefer brisket as it’s so juicy and flavoursome (I still refer to it as klapstuk though, because it’s just such an excellent word).
The brisket needs a long slow cook. Everything is bunged in the pot, so it’s a cinch to throw together, especially if you have a serve of my easy home-made BBQ sauce waiting in your freezer. This forms the flavour base for the stewing liquid – admittedly a little more Texas-style than traditional Dutch, but so tasty. The BBQ sauce freezes well and it makes a large quantity. It’s perfect for pulled pork too.
I like to cook the brisket the day before it’s required. By resting it in the fridge overnight, and removing the firm layer of fat the next morning, it can simply be re-heated when required. I recommend cooking it on a Sunday, so dinner for Monday and Wednesday is sorted.
Reserve half the cooked brisket as planned-overs, and you can whip up a batch of brisket sliders, stuffed with creamy Russian potato salad and sliced gherkins. Delicious! Yep, I’ve unashamedly leaped onto the slider craze. They’re so ace, and so kid-friendly; and I feel a bit like Cher in Moonstruck serving up mini food for dinner. Enjoy!

Slow-cooked brisket and Dutch mash[Recipe 1] Hutspot met klapstuk (Dutch mash with slow-cooked brisket)

Ingredients for the slow-cooked beef brisket (serves 4 for 2 meals):
1.75 kilo (3.8 lb) beef brisket
1 cup home-made BBQ sauce
1 cup beef stock
1 cup water
Ingredients for the Dutch mash (serves 4):
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves garlic, peeled and finely chopped
750g (1½ lb) brown onions (4 medium), peeled and finely chopped

1 kilo (2 lb) potatoes (4 large), peeled and chopped
500g (1 lb) carrots (6 medium), peeled and finely chopped into small pieces
500g (1 lb) orange sweet potato (1 large), peeled and chopped
Sea salt and freshly-cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 150°C (300ºF).
Place beef into a small, close-fitting, ovenproof pot. You may need to cut the meat in half. Mix home-made BBQ sauce, stock and water together and pour over the beef until well-covered. Place into the pre-heated oven and bake, covered, for approximately 3 hours; until the beef is very tender. Turn the beef over once, half-way through the cooking process. Test to see whether beef is tender after 3 hours. It should be easy to break apart with tongs. If not, return to the oven for a further 30 minutes and check again.
Remove pot from the oven and set it on a board to cool slightly, for an hour. Place in the fridge overnight.
The next day, scrape the thin layer of fat from the top and discard. Remove the brisket from the pot and divide into two portions. Return one portion to the cooking pot for tonight’s dinner.
Reserve the other half of the cooked brisket (about 2 cups/500g/1 lb) and ½ cup of the cooking juices for the Beef brisket sliders with Russian potato salad.
For tonight’s dinner, place the pot with beef and juices on the stove top. Simmer over a low heat, covered, stirring often, for 20–30 minutes, until brisket has softened and is warmed through.
To make the Dutch mash (hutspot): heat the oil in a large heavy-based saucepan over medium heat. Cook the onion for 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for 3 minutes. Add the potatoes, carrots and sweet potato. Cover with water and bring to the boil. Simmer for about 20 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender. Drain. Mash, until combined and lumpy (Dutch mash should be rustic and not too smooth). Season.
The mash can be re-warmed in its pot when the beef is ready to serve.
To serve, pile a mound of hutspot onto each serving plate. Make an indentation (‘kuiltje’) in the top of the Dutch mash, ladle some of the pan juices into the kuiltje and place lightly-shredded brisket on top with a splash more of the juices. If liked, you can blend the remaining pan juices with a stick blender, and pour into a gravy jug. Serve and enjoy.

  • Reserved slow-cooked brisket can be stored in the fridge, covered, for up to 3 days.
  • For 2 kilo (4 lb) of brisket, the cooking time should be increased to 3½ hours.

Beef brisket sliders with Russian salad

[Recipe 2] Beef brisket sliders with Russian salad

Ingredients (serves 4):
12 mini bread rolls
2 cups (500g/1 lb) reserved cooked beef brisket, shredded; + ½ cup pan juices
Russian potato salad, to serve
12 dill gherkins, halved (or 24 whole small cornichons)

Split the mini bread rolls lengthways.
♦ Lightly warm the reserved slow-cooked beef brisket. This can be done in the microwave. Drizzle with the reserved pan juices, cover with cling film (or a lid), and microwave on high for 1–2 minutes. Don’t make it too hot! Stuff the mini breadrolls with the warmed brisket. Top with Russian potato salad and sliced gherkins. Serve immediately.

  • Fussy kid tip: My 5-year old isn’t too keen on Russian salad so I serve his sliders with sliced avocado, grated carrot and tomato sauce (ketchup).
  • I buy my mini bread rolls from Breadtop.

37 thoughts on “Slowly does it

  1. Wee I did it- I made Hutspot met klapstuk !!! I bought the brisket- without knowing what a brisket would be (I blame years of mostly vegetarianism or vegetarianism tendencies) and of that alone I am quite proud. I was half expecting an ox tail or a hoof so was quite relieved when it turned out to be a rather large piece of steak looking meat. The butcher was quite excited with the cut, which he had to go out the back for especially- and I belieive I was suddenly the envy of the other customers who were blandly ordering the normal cuts displayed under the glass cabinet (as I usually do).

    I cooked the brisket, exactly as per the receipe- the night before- and the following day, as specified, finished the meal with the wonderful vegetable mash. The brisket was extremely tender and just fell apart which was very satisfying. Ohh and of course the BBQ sauce- so my cooking skills have at least doubled in 24 hours!
    Q: Is the carrot diced smaller than the other veggies as it tends to be less “mashable”?

    But that is not all: Then the next night, the brisket on the minibuns with Russian potato salad was delectable. I really liked the Russian Potato Salad, again with the variety of vegetables and not just potato. THe 50/50 mayo and light sour cream was excellent and my daughter is pleading for me to make more- so I will today.

    So onto my new receipes- the Easter bread looks rather interesting…..

    • Fran, I think this is my favourite comment ever! Such beautifully written, constructive feedback. THANK YOU so much. Can’t even begin to tell you how rapt I am that you made everything, and that you enjoyed it all. My butcher gets excited when I ask for brisket too – maybe it’s a butcher in-joke?! And yes, the carrots should be ‘finely chopped into small pieces’ as per the recipe instructions; but maybe I should highlight it as they certainly aren’t as mashable as the spuds. Although having said that, the thing with hutspot is that it’s so rustic, it doesn’t need to be perfectly mashed anyway.

  2. I’ve never heard of Hutspot or Klapstuck, I love it! The names brought a smile to my face…as did those photos…just gorgeous. I’m with Barb…can you come over and give me some photo lessons?!
    Sliders have become really popular here, too.
    Great recipes, I’ve bookmarked them to try one day. 🙂

    • Thanks Norma. Those words look especially good in caps too! Interested to know how the hutspot turns out with different root veggies – parsnip and possibly turnip could be good inclusions.

  3. These are beautifully done…loving the sound of that Russian potato salad. I love your pictures and your presentation…so bright and colorful!!
    I love your fussy kid tip too…my daughter absolutely LOVES avocado!! Or as she calls it. ..”cado”. 🙂

  4. This looks soooo good that I wish that the cool change was still at its very coolest….perfect food for autumn. I can feel my stomach rumbling, which is what ALWAYS happens when I look at your beautiful blog!!!
    And that name is fantastic — you Dutch are so wonderfully lovingly eccentric. Such a gorgeous language. I want to go back to Amsterdam instantly!!!

    • Thanks Sandra! I think our cool change was a little teaser only. Back to stinking hot next week. Glad I snuck in one dose of slow-cooking before the heat returns, as we’ll be back to salads before we know it… So rapt you think Dutch is gorgeous. It gets a bad rap, coming up from the throat as it does! Oh god, I would kill to be back in Amsterdam too. It’s the only city in the world that makes me well up when I walk through it. SO beautiful. *sigh*

  5. I have a very good friend who is both a professional chef and Dutch, but this is the first I’ve heard of Hutspot. I’m planning to teach my boys to say this in chorus, it’s so wonderful! Those meals look deeply, deeply delicious!

    • Thanks df. Hee hee – ‘Hutspot met klapstuk’ in chorus would be the ultimate tongue-twister! A Dutch professional chef would probably never utter the word ‘hutspot’ aloud (too lowbrow/downright ugly a dish); but if you choose your moment carefully, you could probably prod him/her into confessing to making it in the privacy of their own home.

  6. even though you said the hutspot doesn’t look pretty, but I found your picture capturing yours fantastic, it’s colorful, a little bit lumpy and delicious 😉 the beef brisket was the bomb Saskia, I can’t imagine how flavorful and tender the beef is after 3 hours slow-cooking in homemade BBQ sauce and beef stock, just too wonderful !!! And as always, your pictures always shine through the post, I love your blog more and more after each post, it’s filled with funny stories, memories and cooking tips, I’m looking forward to seeing more amazing posts coming up on your blog, have a nice day 😉

    • Trang, thanks so much for the lovely compliments! Hugely appreciated. *blush*
      I’m glad you like my posts, as I do have a tendency to prattle on. And on. I’m not good at minimalism, in life or in conversation!

  7. This sounds fantastic! I saw the reference to your pulled pork recipe and checked that one out, too. I pinned ’em both. I really enjoy this kind of sandwich with a crunchy salad on top and really need to give all of these recipes, and your barbecue sauce, a try. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Sasby, your recipes are brilliant but your photographs are lip shmackin’!! They look SO fantastic! Love the shots from above and your style is instantly recognisable. Someone MUST publish you right now.
    ChrispyXX

  9. OMG! We had that wallpaper in our kitchen when I was little. Now I’m going to keep coming back to these pictures just so I can look at it! Knowing that Hutspot met Klapstuk was your favourite dish growing up I simply MUST make this…not to mention the fact that the girls will get SUCH as kick out of the name. However, I’m going to have to make the brisket too…well everything actually. I just made pulled pork in the slow cooker today with a couple of pork tenderloins that I picked up on sale. I cooked in for a few hours in just beer and then added in the sauce for the last hour or so. I found that the sauce didn’t break down the way it does when you cook it in the sauce for hours (in the slow cooker). So…now I’ll try your BBQ sauce since I used a bottled version and then added my own other ingredients (another twofer right!). I really like that the brisket can be popped into the oven. Would you believe I’ve never made brisket before??? Just love this post. Can you come over and give me photo lessons? I really would love to meet you Saskia. I like you more with every post. 🙂

    • I can’t BELIEVE you had that exact wallpaper Barb. That’s hilarious!! I love the little cuckoo clocks on it – we had a very noisy one when I was little. My dad, being a true Dutchie, has a thing for clocks. Love the sound of your pork. Anything cooked in beer gets my vote. Love to meet you too one day. It’s one of the best aspects of blogging, ‘meeting’ nice folks from around the world. It’s like pen-friends for adults. There are a few readers (you included of course) whom I consider ‘friends I’ve never met’. Sheesh, sounding very Oprah now aren’t I?

      • Not sounding very Oprah at all. I feel the same way …thus my comments too. It really is one of the best aspects of blogging . . . which must be what keeps us going given all the work involved juggling this and our gigs as working moms! We leave on vacay tomorrow so I’ll look forward to catching up after we get back. Off to Jamaica!

I love a chat!

