Fish for compliments

[Recipe 1] FISH WRAPS with CHILLI SLAW and CRUNCHY NOODLES transforms into
[Recipe 2] KEDGEREE
……………..
We’re back to school and work today after our two-week Easter break. We’ve had such a lovely time over the last week. Lots of crafting; including mini concrete mushrooms for the garden; a Barry Gibb beard; and a huge surrogate stuffed mother cat softie for our kitten. Squeezed in a trip to the beach, Kid’s Comedy Club at the Melbourne Comedy Festival and a visit to the Zoo. Melbourne readers – you must get to the Zoo ASAP to see baby Dewi the orangutan; and Sanook the baby elephant. We were mesmerised by Dewi for over an hour. He is hilarious. Little Sanook was closely guarded by his herd, and was divine. There were lots of ooohs and aaahs from the crowd; and a lady behind me was in raptures, repeating ‘Oh bless, oh bless, oh bless’ in a disturbingly deep voice, mantra-style in my ear.
The last week has seen a conga-line of quick and easy dinners; including a ripper Spaghetti with white anchovies and capers, from the Bartolini kitchens; and fish wraps with chilli slaw and crunchy noodles. These wraps are one of my 8-year old’s favourite dinners, so I figured it was about time I blogged ‘em. I even have a cheat’s version of this meal up my sleeve, for when we’re on holidays (see tips below the recipe).
Fish and chilli slaw are perfect partners in a wrap. By cooking a bit of extra fish, you can whip up a beautiful kedgeree for dinner the next night. That’s your two recommended fish meals a week sorted!
Kedgeree is a traditional English breakfast dish from colonial India, but it’s also fabulous for dinner; and frankly, I’m not a fan of fish for breakfast anyway. It commonly uses haddock, but it’s a great meal for using up leftover fish of any variety; and is super quick to throw together, particularly as it uses daggy old curry powder, instead of a bunch of different spices. We love it. Oh, the fresh limes are a must, adding a good dash of zing, so don’t omit them.

Fish and chilli slaw wraps[Recipe 1] Fish wraps with chilli slaw and crunchy noodles

Ingredients (serves 4 for 2 meals):
750g (1½ lb) King George whiting, flathead, gurnard or other firm white fish fillets
¾ cup plain (all-purpose) flour for dusting
1 tablespoon olive oil for frying
Mountain bread wraps or tortillas, to serve
Chilli slaw with crispy noodles, to serve
(plus 1 extra grated carrot for the kedgeree)

Place fish fillets in a large lidded container with the flour. Seal and shake gently to coat. Remove fish, shaking off excess flour. Refrigerate, covered, until required.
Heat oil in a large heavy-based frying pan over medium heat. Fry the fish fillets in batches for about 2–3 minutes each side, until light golden brown. Drain on kitchen paper.
Reserve 2 cups cooked fish for the kedgeree.
Serve each wrap or tortilla with one or two fish fillets and a good mound of chilli slaw. Roll to enclose, and serve immediately.

  • Reserved cooked fish should be placed in the fridge as soon as it has cooled. It will keep refrigerated for up to 2 days.
  • Fussy kid tip: my 5-year old isn’t a fan of coleslaw so I serve his fish wraps with avocado and grated carrot.
  • 5-minute vacation dinner: When we’re away on holidays I mostly stay away from the kitchen. I make a cheat’s version of these wraps with a store-bought pack of pre-chopped coleslaw ingredients and grilled fish fillets from the fish n’ chip shop!

Kedgeree

[Recipe 2] Kedgeree

Ingredients (serves 4):
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small brown onion, finely chopped
1 reserved grated carrot
1 tablespoon mild curry powder
2 tomatoes, skinned, deseeded and chopped
2 cups reserved cooked fish, flaked
3 cups cold cooked basmati rice (you’ll need 1 cup uncooked rice*)
1 cup cooked fresh or frozen baby peas
3 hard-boiled eggs
Lime wedges, to serve
Chopped parsley, to serve (optional)

Heat oil in a large heavy-based frying pan over medium heat. Cook the onion and reserved carrot until the onion is soft and transparent (about 5 minutes); then add the curry powder and tomatoes and stir until fragrant.
Add the reserved fish, cooked rice and peas to the pan. Cook gently for 3–5 minutes, turning frequently with a spatula, until heated through.
Divide kedgeree amongst four serving bowls. Quarter the eggs and arrange on the kedgeree. Serve at once with lime wedges for squeezing.

  • * You’ll get a better result with this dish if you use refrigerated cooked rice. The rice can be cooked up to 2 days in advance, and refrigerated until required. 1 cup uncooked rice yields 3 cups cooked rice. Cooked rice can also be frozen and defrosted overnight in the fridge. Break it up with a fork before using.
  • Rinse your rice well and drain before cooking, if you’re using the absorption method.
  • You can par-boil the tomatoes for peeling in the same pot as your rice. Peeled and de-seeded tomatoes will keep in the fridge for up to 2 days.
  • Fussy kid tip: you can dial the curry powder up or down according to taste. Children’s portions can be placed in a sieve and rinsed before serving – my 5-year old happily wolfs down rinsed kedgeree!

23 thoughts on “Fish for compliments

  1. When your break was finished, my husband & I got our holiday for 1 week. Your 2 amazing tasty recipes look really good. I love, love the 1st recipe the most here! 🙂 So fantastic in flavours, Saskia! You also could temp me with the Kedgeree, you know! x

    • Great! It’s such a fab dish for using up leftover bits and pieces. I love hotch-potch Anglo-Indian dishes. Mulligatawny is another favourite, which I must make again now the weather has turned.

  2. Fish has never been my best friend in the kitchen when I cook it for my dad and bro but with your dishes, I could be tempted to try it again – your recipes look incredible 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. i think we found your missing boot in the pond and caught some more fish to make wraps. i linked this post to my blog fittingly 🙂 i’m lucky, my 3 little ones love fish we try to eat it at least once a week. fish tacos are an easy staple here but must try these wraps and never heard of kedgeree! looks great!!!!

    • Hah! That’s fantastic you found our missing boot Kim. And a mobile is a much better use for it! We love our fish tacos too, in fact fish wrapped up in just about anything is good.

  4. Your fish wraps look delicious and so easy to prepare. Truth be told, I’d be much more prone to buy the pre-made slaw than to buy them all myself. Serving for one, that’s an awful lot of slaw if I buy all of the ingredients and start shredding. I’ll just pretend I’m on vacation. I’m unfamiliar with kedgeree but I like everything about it. It’s a great use for leftover fish and rice. I’m going to pin this post for future use.
    Thank you for the shout-out. It’s nice to hear that a recipe is used and enjoyed, especially when children are involved — even if the special peas were left out. 😉

    • Can absolutely understand buying pre-cut coleslaw ingredients for one. I have a tricky enough time getting through it with 4 of us, and often schlep a container of it over to our neighbours.
      Looking forward to making your pasta again. I have half a tub left of those beautiful white anchovies, and I just may sprinkle a couple of ‘special peas’ on the boy’s serves this time. Who knows, they may actually love them.

  5. I have the misfortune of being the only fish-eater in my household so that I constantly pine for it. Both recipes look absolutely gorgeous! I’ve always had a thing for kedgeree.
    The concrete mushrooms made me smile. When I was a kid my dad made one under the hills hoist as a place to put the washing basket, with garden gnome beneath! We loved it, and he was in great demand with the relatives to make them some too.

    • That’s FANTASTIC – your dad sounds hilarious, and very creative! Hope you still have the mushroom. We were taught the art of concrete mushroom making from a lovely old man at a Gnome Festival recently. He was selling them, but was so pleased to meet my 5-year old (a fellow gnome fanatic) that he shared his secrets with us. We used the inner plastic thingies from Kinder Surprise eggs, half-filled them with concrete, stuck pieces of coat-hanger wire in them, popped them out and painted them. They’re tiny, and very cute!
      PS. Can’t imagine how hard it must be being the only fish-eater in your household. Hope you manage to sneak in the odd tin of tuna at least.

  6. Your two weeks off sound like heaven Saskia. The twofer is a winner. I like that you even shred the carrots for both meals at one time. I am just wondering if I could get the girls to eat the kedgeree with the curry in there. I would also need to use your fussy kid tip for the wraps — neither ponytail will eat cole slaw. Your vacay cheater tip is a good one to tuck away as well. Good luck getting back into the groove with work! My company’s office is moving so thing as crazy here.

    • Thanks Barb. You could always start with a whisper of curry powder, and see how it goes down. I have one adventurous eater, and one who needs cajoling/deception; so I tend to make our meals for the husband and I and our 8-year old; and customise later for our 5-year old. The rinsing works a treat with the kedgeree. For other spicy food like curries, I stir natural yogurt through to cool it down. Keep trying coleslaw on your ponytails – they may surprise you by suddenly accepting it! Our 8-year old was anti it for ages, but now adores it, which I’m very happy about as it’s so quick and healthy. Good luck with the move at work – that sounds positively painful!

    • Thanks Sawsan. Always good to have a few different fish recipes up your sleeve – these two are favourites around here. My 8-year old announced a while ago that he would happily eat the fish wraps every night!

  7. That kedgeree shot is a stunner Saskia! It’s a favourite meal of my husband’s and mine, and I realize that we haven’t made it in ages. This is a great reminder. Sounds like you had a lovely Easter break. Welcome back to the routine 🙂

    • Thanks df! I’m trying to slide gracefully back into the old routine. The ‘breakfast/school lunch-making/hunting for one missing school shoe/leaving the house at the right time’ bit is always a shock to the system though.

I love a chat!

