Completely crackers!

DIY super-easy Christmas crackers 
……………..
I love this time of year. It’s completely crazy, in a good way. My boys are counting sleeps ’til Christmas already. Santa will have his work cut out for him this year – I do hope he shops on Ebay as one son has requested the entire set of back issues of a UK Make-your-own-robot magazine from the early 90s, and the other is coveting a rocket from the Thunderbirds. Sheesh, sorry Santa, no bikes or nerf guns required at our house.
The Silly Season is craft-a-palooza at our house. I hope you’ll indulge me sharing a few of our Christmas craft creations over the next few weeks.
If you’ve ever considered making your own Christmas crackers, these go off with a bang. They’re named too, so they make fab place holders at the table.
There’s no need to purchase a special kit. You’ll need a packet of cheap-as-chips ready-made crackers (ours were from Aldi). They’re simply deconstructed and re-wrapped. You can fill them with all manner of goodies – I do suggest you retain the crappy jokes and paper hats though. Christmas just wouldn’t be the same without them.
Using an alphabet stamp pad for the names looks great, and is the perfect task to give children (excellent incidental alphabet practise too)!
You can save the cracker off-cuts, and other scraps, for the kid’s craft box. The inner cardboard circles from the organza ribbon make great ‘car wheels’.
Are you making any special decorations, or doing anything exciting for Christmas? Do share!
PS. We have a winner for the 1=2 Christmas Giveaway. Congratulations Alicia Boarts!

DIY Christmas crackers tutorialDIY Christmas crackers bonbons step by stepMake-your-own Christmas crackers

FOR 20 CRACKERS:
20 store-bought inexpensive Christmas crackers
3 packets 50cm (20″) wide x 2 metres (80″) long, gold crepe paper
20 metres (65 ft) red organza ribbon, cut into 40 lengths of 50cm (20″)
20 patterned paper pieces (I used vintage wallpaper), 110 x 160 cm (43 x 63″) each, or as required
20 red shipping labels (available at craft stores, etsy or ebay)
Alphabet stamp pad (or you can hand-write the names)
2–3 goodies to stuff inside each cracker; such as chockies, tiny bags of sweets or Lego minifigures

1. Grab your ready-made cracker.
2. Carefully cut off the ends of your cracker, taking care not to cut the snap.
3. Re-position the snap in the centre of the cracker.
4. Push an extra couple of goodies into each cracker. You can customise them for adults and kids.
5. Roll a piece of crepe paper around your cracker, and glue the join. You can cut the paper short, but I like to leave them long as they look très elegant.
6. Tie organza ribbon around each end, and fasten your shipping labels.
7. Voila!

31 thoughts on “Completely crackers!

  1. I’ve been looking for something fun to make with my younger, homeschooled boy (he’s nine) in preparing for Christmas, and I think he’d love these. Thanks for the instant art project! It’s our year to befuddle Santa too: the 14-year old has outgrown him (I’m pretty sure Santa won’t forget him though) and the nine year old requested gerbils to replace one that died a few weeks ago. We’ll see how he does with a request for livestock! Love the Thunderbirds request: let’s hope these Thunderbirds are GO! Do your boys know Captain Scarlet too?

    • Wow, I hope the gerbils cope with the sleigh ride! There is probably a special covered section on-board for livestock. I’m dreading the time when the boys outgrow Santa. The older one is already asking a few too many questions. *sniff* Yes, the boys know Captain Scarlett too, although he isn’t as adored as the T’birds.
      PS> Enjoy the cracker-making!

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog and lovely to discover yours. I love your craftiness and your crackers look just gorgeous. I would love to be there when you visit Santa and watch Santa’s face when your boys divulge what’s on their Christmas list! Good luck Santa! xx

  3. nice one sas -saw a cracker kit in spotlight but this is way better. Like the lego dude on pic 4- dont they always look frumpy those little guys. I really enjoyed making with Hallam and its great to see you do too. Go girl enjoy ps: -if there was one thing i would replace in a cracker its the shit jokes!

  4. Lovely idea Saskia! The girls would love this idea and I know they’d be keen to help out. I see the name Opa on one of those crackers. Do you have German roots? I can’t believe how specific your boys are being with their lists — good thing Santa is pretty resourceful. (my youngest asked for makeup and stickers. 😉

    • Thanks Barb. I was born in Holland, so the boys are lucky enough to have an Opa and Oma. The boy’s Chrissie list is hilarious. They posted it to Santa, complete with drawings, and a particular request that the Thunderbirds rocket be ‘vintage’. Makeup and stickers – lucky you, I mean Santa.

  5. They look great! Much nicer to add your own fillings! I must admit, I’m not one for crafty-activities…I just don’t have the time and have to draw the line somewhere! Although crafty activities are probably “better” for me than Instagram and Words with Friends, so maybe I should think about readjusting my hobbies! (‘Don’t think I could!)

    • Haven’t played Words with Friends yet… very tempted though. It’d be good exercise for my frizzy old brain. I played Scrabble with some girlfriends recently and one of them is a Words with Friends legend. She completely blitzed us!

  6. you’re mental, you can’t possibly have that much time. But you know I’m going to give it a go. Thanks for the inspiration, you bar raiser you. jxx

I love a chat!

